Section 8 Housing; What Every Landlord Needs to Know


The Steps Required to Becoming a Section 8 Landlord

Step 1:  Find a Section 8 Tenant  

List your housing with the PHA  (Public Housing Authority for Florida)  

Step 2: Submit a “Request for Tenancy Approval” form  (RTA Form)  

The RTA Form says that you approve the family as a suitable renter.    

Step 3:  The PHA needs to approve your unit.   

The Housing Quality Standards inspection determines if your unit and your history as a landlord meet Section 8 standards.   If your unit doesn’t pass the PHA will allow the landlord to make the necessary repairs.  

Step 4: Section 8 Contract and Lease Signed  

Because the landlord receives split payment, from the PHA and the tenant, you will be required to have 2 contracts, one with the PHA and one with the tenant.  The PHA enters into a housing assistance payment contract and the renter signs a lease.  

Step 5: The PHA makes monthly Section 8  housing assistance payments.   

You are now a participating landlord in the Section 8 Housing Voucher Program.